Potato Candy

I’m glad I’ve heard a couple other people say they have had potato candy before, because I was beginning to think this was some sort of weird family tradition that only my family did. Regardless, I don’t care. It’s delicious. My grandma has made it for holiday events since I can remember and I absolutely love the stuff. I’ve made four batches this holiday season already and I can’t lie… there was definitely a potato-candy-eating binge one night that almost made me sick.  Still worth it.

This has also been perfect since I dumpstered a few bags of powdered sugar a while back, and I still have TONS of instant mashed potato flakes from  this find.  These can be made with any mashed potatoes (my mom and grandma usually just make mashed potatoes the day before and then use the leftovers) but instant actually works better in this case. If you don’t use instant, DEFINITELY make sure there aren’t any lumps. I love lumpy mashed potatoes with the skin still in them, but a piece of candy with a big potato-lump in it? Not so much.

Anyway, here’s how I was taught to make mashed potato candy:

Start with a whole bag of powdered sugar. Yeah. A whole bag. There’s nothing healthy about this recipe… it’s candy! Add the a couple tablespoons of mashed potatoes and mix well. When you get this this lumpy stage, you’re getting close. A mixer would be really nice for this, but mixing it with your hands or a fork works just fine too.  You want the dough just soft enough to stick together and not fall apart when you roll it out and fold it up, but not wet or it’ll stick to everything.  If it’s too wet, add more sugar. Too dry, add more potatoes. There really aren’t any measurements — it tends to vary a lot every time I make it.

 

Roll out the dough — You’ll probably want to put a little powdered sugar on the counter top and the rolling pin. Try to roll it out as rectangular as possible, or you’ll have a couple end pieces that are odd-sized and don’t have as much filling to them. Those obviously have to be eaten immediately while making the rest of the pieces…

 

Cut the dough in half, and spread peanut butter on one half (a whole bag of powdered sugar should be enough for two rolled-out rectangles, and four “logs” total).

 

Take that half, and roll it up into a log with the peanut-butter inside. This can be tricky, and you’ll know at this point if your dough is too wet (it’ll be stuck to the counter) or too dry (it’ll break). Fortunately, both aren’t a big deal. Too wet and a metal pancake turner will un-stick it, and too dry just means you’ll have great-tasting not-so-pretty potato candy.

Cut the log into roughly 1/4″ sections. This batch was a little dry, so you can see what happens there. I probably could have used more peanut butter too. Meh. It’s not a science! It’ll be good regardless.

…that’s it! You can obviously eat these right away, but they dry up a little bit and are less messy after they’ve sat in a tin for overnight or so. This is hardly the prettiest batch I’ve ever made, but so far no one has complained…

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Potato Candy”

  1. why'd i come in here? (kbean123) says :

    How awesome….especially when I can get in a serving of veggies!

  2. mskristiina says :

    I’m going to try this with left overs on Sunday!

  3. cameraphonevegan says :

    wow, never heard of it!

Leave a Reply

