Creamed sweet corn soup

image

I’ve been on a huge soup kick lately! Today was no exception… I had dumpsterrd four ears of sweet corn and I really needed to use them before they went bad. So… sweet corn soup!
I also had some carrots and green onions from the dumpster. This soup probably didn’t need them, but they added a buy of flavor and color.

I’ve had a few requests for recipes, so from now on I’ll try to measure and write down proportions instead of “well, I threw this, that, and some other stuff in a pan” descriptions. So… here goes:

Creamed sweet corn soup:

4 Ears sweet corn
1 large carrot
4-6 stalks green onion
3c Rice milk or other vegan milk
1tbsp sea salt
1/2tbsp black pepper
1tsp cayenne

Shuck corn and remove silks. Cut corn off the cob (this is easiest by putting the corn on end in a mixing bowl). Add half the corn and rice milk to the blender and blend until smooth.

Add blended mix and the other half of the corn to a stock pot and start simmering while chopping the carrot and onion stalks. Add carrot/onion/spices and bring to a boil, then simmer until the carrots are tender.

I had some roasted kale to go with this soup, and it was a total success. Winter can’t stop me as long as I have good soup skills!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

